things I wore 20th july

An exercise in patience.

I left 6 of my favourite vintage pieces with a tailor in Penang to copy.

We talked overlocking, covered buttons, silk linings, hem allowances and peterpan collars on vinyl chairs.

I fawned over Thai silks and linen weaves and stroked bolts of 40’s cotton.

I kissed the garments, crossed my fingers and walked out into the humid evening.

Two months later, a battered, damaged cardboard box with my name on it shuffled in.

They are sublime.

Green linen and silk 60s swing jacket with fuschia silk cotton lining.

Matching a-line dress with hip darts and a v-necked back.

Copied from

http://tiny.cc/gugzj

Silk scarf, Emirates. Leopard print horse hair belt, The Way We Wear Vintage Fair.

Worn with creme 60’s Salvatore Ferragamo wanna-be loafers, leopard print velour jacket and blue scarf.

Leave a Reply

